Use these resources to prepare for the CISM Certification Examination

CISM Certification, which is highly recognised by worldwide clients and organisations. It enables experts to do security audits, risk analysis, and security system design in order to keep networks secure and company data safe.

About CISM certification

If you’re seeking information on CISM certification or just curious about it, your search may be finished because this piece will cover all you need to know about it.

This post will go through the CISM test curriculum, exam style and preparation advice, CISM certification perks, and much more to help you become CISM certified.

Let’s get started.

ISACA’s (Information System Audit and Control Association) CISM (Certified Information Security Manager) certification is a worldwide recognised accreditation in the IT sector.

It denotes expertise in the design and development of secure infrastructure, the deployment and administration of information security, and the securing of architecture in terms of incident and risk management.

Roles and Responsibilities of CISM

CISM has several functions and duties. However, there are a few particular responsibilities that are all connected to the organisation’s goal of providing world-class security and protection, such as:

  • One of the key objectives of CISM Security professionals is to protect company data from cyber-attack, unauthorised access, and theft.
  • To safeguard the company’s information, they must also develop and execute the essential security measures, as well as monitor, manage, and audit all areas of infrastructure security.
  • Threats are assessed in order to reinforce existing security measures or to develop new ones in response to developing trends.
  • In the event of a significant occurrence, assess security products, test them for security flaws, and create disaster recovery strategies.
  • In the event of a major disaster, test infrastructure for security flaws and develop a disaster recovery strategy.
  • Maintain network infrastructure in accordance with national and international standards.

Who can pursue the CISM certification?

The CISM certification is a widely recognised qualification for information security management in organisations of all kinds, ranging from small and medium-sized firms to large multinationals.

CISM certification is available for people who want to design, execute, and assess an organisation’s information security programme.

It would benefit from IT expertise, such as network engineers, security directors, IT managers, security professionals, IT auditors, and so on.

IT professionals may expect to progress their careers by pursuing their interests in information security (InfoSec) and related issues such as cyber-attack, business continuity, disaster recovery, risk, and incident management.

Criteria to pursue CISM certification

CISM, in particular, demands individuals to understand IT infrastructure security from both a business and a technical aspect.

To become CISM certified, professionals must satisfy two criteria:

  • You must pass the CISM test and
  • have at least five years of work experience.

Because information security necessitates a high degree of expertise, ISACA demands five years of experience in the sector within the last 10 years before applying for certification.

If the professionals complete the qualifications specified below, they can acquire a waiver in employment experience for up to two years.

Professionals who possess any of the following qualifications can acquire a two-year waiver:

  • CISA certification
  • CISSP certification
  • Postgraduate degree in information security or business administration, information systems, and information assurance.

For one year waiver, professionals should possess any of the following qualifications:

  • One year of experience managing information systems
  • One year of general security management experience
  • GIAC, MCSE, CompTIA Security +, Disaster Recovery Institute Certified Business Continuity Professional (CBCP), and ESL IT Security Manager certifications

Benefits of CISM certification

Certain benefits come with the title, and this is true for CISM.

CISM certification provides various benefits in terms of current employment and future career options.

  • By showing your compliance and credibility, CISM certification may enhance your interactions with internal and external stakeholders, coworkers, and regulators.
  • It ensures senior management that CISM-certified individuals have the knowledge and competence required to provide solid security management and guidance.
  • CISM may certify an organisation’s commitment to compliance, security, and integrity, which can help firms maintain and expand their customer base.
  • According to the InfosecInstitute, CISM-certified executives are among the highest-paid executives in the IT industry.
  • ISACA CISM accreditation gives your organisation credibility, allowing it to carry out its information security programme and accomplish its larger goals and objectives.

Growth prospects for CISM professionals

Cyber defence is no longer an option in today’s environment. Security specialists are in high demand to secure corporate data and information as the industry expands.

Every small or big firm in every industry – BFSI, IT, Telecom, Retail, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Travel, Energy, and more – requires individuals with certifications such as CISM, CISSP, CRISC, and CISA.

Candidates with CISM certification can apply for a variety of professions based on their abilities, education, and credentials. For CISM-certified workers, professions such as security manager, security administrator, security analyst, security architect, security software developer, and security consultant are available.

One analysis predicts that the worldwide cyber security industry would grow by 13.4% between 2022 and 2029, from USD 155.83 billion to USD 376.32 billion.

According to the International Social Security Association (ISSA) research, the scarcity of cybersecurity personnel is worsening, affecting 70% of organisations.

According to US data, cybersecurity experts will see a 31% rise in employment between 2019 and 2029, well above the average for all occupations.

CISM Exam Specifications

ISACA certification examinations are computer-based and are administered at certified PSI testing centres across the world or via remote proctoring. Candidates can register for examinations at any time of year.

Candidates have 365 days from enrolling to take the CISA exam training Sprintzeal to attend; else, the exam money is forfeited. The test lasts 4 hours, requires 150 multiple-choice questions, and the passing score is 450.

The candidate will be notified of the results of the examination within ten days, and they will then have five days to apply for the CISM certification.


Every day, the worldwide IT network rotates around. Because it is prone to risks, breaches, threats, and assaults, SACA certifications like CISA, CRISC, CISM, and CGEIT are highly appreciated.

It takes a lot of effort to get CISM certified. Some applicants may first register in classes, read literature, and pass examinations. To prepare for the next exam, other applicants must repeat the course and continue to study the content.

If you want to achieve CISM certification or any certification, the most essential thing to remember is to stay motivated and strive towards your objectives.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *