UN Normal Meeting elects 15 new members to Human Rights Council

After the ballots had been solid and counted, Meeting President Dennis Francis introduced Albania, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burundi, China, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Dominican Republic, France, Ghana, Indonesia, Japan, Kuwait, Malawi, and the Netherlands had been elected to serve for 3 years, starting 1 January 2024.

China, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, France, and Malawi had been re-elected for his or her second phrases. 

The Human Rights Council, the UN’s premier rights physique, is tasked with the duty to uphold and advance basic freedoms globally. It was created in 2006 and consists of 47 member States, elected by way of secret poll by nearly all of Normal Meeting members.

With a view to guarantee equitable geographical distribution, its seats are distributed amongst regional teams of States as follows, from Africa (13); Asia-Pacific (13); Japanese European (6); Latin American and Caribbean (8); and Western European and others (7).


Malawi topped the voting for African nations, with 182 votes, adopted by Côte d’Ivoire (181), Ghana (179), Burundi (168), and Nigeria (3). In Asia and the Pacific, Indonesia secured 186 votes, adopted by Kuwait (183), Japan (175), and China (154).

In Japanese Europe, Bulgaria obtained 160 votes, adopted by Albania (123), and Russia (83). Russia was searching for re-election to the Human Rights Council after it resigned from the physique on 7 April 2022.

Latin America and the Caribbean noticed Cuba safe 146 votes, adopted by Brazil (144), Dominican Republic (137) and Peru (108). That is the primary time Dominican Republic is elected to the Human Rights Council.

In Western Europe and others, the Netherlands obtained 169 votes, and France 153.

Check it out  At Cairo Peace Summit, Guterres stresses want for sustained humanitarian assist to Gaza

The brand new members will be a part of Algeria, Argentina, Bangladesh, Belgium, Benin, Cameroon, Chile, Costa Rica, Eritrea, Finland, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Honduras, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Maldives, Montenegro, Morocco, Paraguay, Qatar, Romania, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, and Viet Nam on 1 January 2024. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *